An authentic place, rich in history and stories

1436 - 1822

1822 - 1929

In 1888 the entire property was purchased by Giovanni Del Signore (1857-1929), great-grandfather of the present owner who, upon returning from the United States, established his home here. In place of the paper mill he built an ice factory, for food preservation, and a sawmill, powered by two turbines capable of harnessing the hydraulic power of the biedale to produce the necessary electricity, energy he also used for lighting the villa.

In 1890 he also purchased the nearby factory with its mill, bakery and pasta factory, leading the entire complex to become the most important manufacturing hub in the area.

The park was planted with various ornamental plants in vogue at the time, such as the deodar and Atlantic cedars, which are still present today.

The earliest records go back to 1436, with the Coduro mill that stood where the farmyard is now, fed by the biedale, the canal that brought water from the Magra and that still flows today in its original layout.

In 1822 the mill was bought by some notable Pontremolese families to build a paper mill there, thanks to that abundant water flowing in the biedale, a paper mill whose maceration tanks, located under the floor of the threshing floor, and paper drying rooms, with characteristic ventilation windows, located on both sides of the building, can still be seen today.

In the early 1800s the manor house, what is now the villa, was built and later expanded.

Villa Del Signore was the subject of numerous interventions over the years in both the interiors and exteriors to make it more welcoming, including the enlargement of the terrace, the neoclassical decorations of the interiors, which are still present and perfectly preserved, still able to offer authentic atmospheres of other times.

Thanks to the passion for botany and art of Emanuele, Giovanni's son, numerous interventions were also made in the park, with the planting of numerous tree species and the creation of the swimming pool fed with river water.

During World War II it was occupied by the German command under Field Marshal Albert Kesselring. When the war ended, the property returned to the Del Signore family.

1829 - 1950

1950 - 2018

From the postwar period onward, the villa was used mainly as a summer residence, while productive activities resumed and continued until the 1960s, except agricultural activities in the various estates, which continued, albeit gradually downsized.

In the following years, many writers were welcomed and hosted, participating in the Bancarella Prize thanks to Emanuele and his sisters' passion for literature.

In 2011, a very violent flood of the Magra River lapped only the villa, while heavily damaging the former industrial and agricultural premises adjacent to the river.

Subsequently, the property will then pass to the heirs, first Franco Del Signore (1936 - 2018) and then to his son Emanuele, who will rename it Villa la Cartiera, to strengthen the link with the stories and the place.

2018 - 2023

Since 2018, the villa has undergone numerous maintenance works as well as the park and countryside, which are still ongoing. In addition to being open to visitors for the first time, numerous activities have been hosted including contemporary art exhibitions, classical music concerts, and art workshops.

Today Villa la Cartiera opens to welcome guests who wish to spend vacations in a unique place, rich in history, authentic and unique atmospheres but also to organize exclusive events.